Search Again:

Re: registration theorists

From: Paul S Vail
Date: Thursday, February 10, 2000
Time: 8:39:00 pm

>>My question is then, who can you do a whois with and not have it
>>'monitored'?
>>
>>Don't you have to query the whois database of one of the 'big
>>boys'?
>>
>>I mean I have some code on my website where I can doa whois
>>query, but it checks the network solutions database. So
>>how/where would I check if not to them?
>
>No matter whose gateway you use, they all have to check
>@rs.internic.net, which is still operated by Network Solutions on
>behalf of the US Government.

Look,

this pollution has shown up on several lists in the last three days. Is
it not even remotely possible that the site was taken legitimately? Have
you bothered to call NetSol and speak to a supervisor? If an employee is
doing this, they'd be squashed. The only way NetSol would know to begin
to watch for this is if you contact their management. Did someone else
register your desired domain (hey, with thousands of registrations a day
going through, it IS possible you weren't the only folks to come up with
your domain name idea...)?

I'd cry foul only if someone registered within a day or two of you, then
contacted you to "sell" it. Or, you contacted them and they seemed a bit
too, um, willing. Have you contacted the registrant to see about their
intentions?

Until you have some real facts, could we stop with the conspiracy
theories?

paul



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page