|
|
 |  |
OT: Credit Card Scam HelpFrom: David Ross Date: Wednesday, May 17, 2000
Time: 2:40:17 amThis is way off topic but I suspect the help I need is here.
A consulting client of mine called to ask about a strange charge on
their company card. Since I have charging privileges and account for 90%
of the action they turn to me first with questions.
Charge was for $29.95 from paycom.net. They had a web site so I called.
They said they handle billing for about 10,000 web sites, mostly adult
oriented. They agreed to reverse the charge immediately but indicated
that we might hear from the web site operator after they do an IP trace
of the session. No problem. They had an email address associated with
the charge of xxxx@insurer.com. Turns out to be one of a collection of
domains made available for free email accounts.
Moving on. How did they get the card? Even bigger who else has it.
Got online with the bank, signed up for web access to the account, and
in 10 minutes was looking at current charges. 2 of the 3 were mine for
software. Third was listed for "$26.26 ELFACOM - MOSCOW". Hmmmmmmm.
<www.elfacom.com> appeared to be in Crilyk (sp?) but with lots of VISA
and other card logos. I suspected it was a Russian version of
paycom.net. Printed the page and started checking with friends for a
Russian language reader.
Here's where it gets strange. Within an hour of me checking the site it
went away. Not entirely but I couldn't access it anymore. And I had just
posted a request on the MM list and none of the helpers there could get
to it either. Bablefish told me it couldn't translate because of a
gateway error.
What I'm wondering is if they noticed me accessing the site and shut it
down to folks outside their area. This is where my knowledge of the
internet gets real weak. I can trace route back to them but I can't get
TO them. Is there someone who knows how to get o the site and see what
it is all about? Here's a trace:
Start: 5/17/00 3:18:02 AM
Find route from: 192.168.11.102
to: elfacom.com. (216.110.36.188), Max 30 hops, 40 byte packets
Host Names truncated to 50 bytes
1 192.168.11.1 (192.168.11.1 ):
3ms 3ms 3ms
2 adsl-77-240-1.rdu.bellsouth.net. (216.77.240.1 ):
13ms 14ms 13ms
3 209.214.165.78 (209.214.165.78 ):
13ms
3 209.214.165.77 (209.214.165.77 ):
13ms
3 209.214.165.78 (209.214.165.78 ):
13ms
4 ixc000f00.rdu.bellsouth.net. (205.152.32.249 ):
14ms 118ms 91ms
5 500.serial4-1-0.gw1.dca3.alter.net. (157.130.39.41 ):
21ms 36ms 23ms
6 110.atm4-0.xr1.tco1.alter.net. (146.188.161.62 ):
21ms 22ms 22ms
7 193.atm2-0.tr1.dca8.alter.net. (152.63.32.190 ):
23ms 22ms 23ms
8 115.atm7-0.tr1.dfw4.alter.net. (146.188.138.134):
56ms 56ms 116ms
9 199.at-1-0-0.xr1.dfw7.alter.net. (146.188.241.221):
57ms 56ms 58ms
10 191.atm8-0-0.gw3.dfw7.alter.net. (146.188.241.161):
57ms 58ms 57ms
11 rackspace-gw.customer.alter.net. (157.130.137.58 ):
66ms 431ms 221ms
12 vl131.aggr3.ksat.rackspace.com. (64.39.2.51 ):
191ms 164ms 428ms
13 * * *
14 * * *
Thanks for the help.
PS: Yes I do know about:
http://www.labmed.umn.edu/%7Ejohn/ccfraud.html
PPS: The account has been canceled.
|

Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page |