Search Again:

ORBS blacklist

From: Rick Osgood
Date: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Time: 11:56:26 am


The Internet vigilantes at Orbs.com have blacklisted our mail server
as an "Open Relay".

It is NOT, we have Relay Restrictions set ON, with only our own
domains allowed in EIMS. However, they have apparently detected
-something- that I'm not aware of.

Can someone here give me a clue as to how to change the server
settings to get off their list? It is apparently something in our
DNS setup that they object to.

The mail server that they have blacklisted is mail.dartboard.com, at
206.180.155.50.

ORBS, BTW, is run by a completely anonymous group of individuals, who
do not return emails, do not list any contact address or phone
number, and admit on their own home page that their database and
hardware are unreliable & crash often. Yet this amateur vigilante
group has the power to practically shut down a business by
blacklisting their IP#s. Why does -anyone- ever use their database,
without even knowing who they are, or what security measures, if any,
they use to protect their database? Incredible...

Regards,

Rick Osgood
Editor, CYBER/DARTS "The Darts Zine" http://www.cyberdarts.com
E-mail: editor@cyberdarts.com



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page