Search Again:

Re: ORBS blacklist

From: Sam Lewis
Date: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Time: 12:05:56 pm

>The Internet vigilantes at Orbs.com have blacklisted our mail server
>as an "Open Relay".
>
>It is NOT, we have Relay Restrictions set ON, with only our own
>domains allowed in EIMS. However, they have apparently detected
>-something- that I'm not aware of.


Rick,

EIMS 1.3.1 cannot be secured against all of the relaying tests that
ORBS throws at it. Your best bet is to upgrade to 2.2.2 or 3.0 and
set the relay restrictions to the 2nd option "Only relay if for local
domains or the following domains AND if from a valid IP".

Then either setup the range of valid IPs (your subnet and any other
static IPs you need to allow to relay) or require the use of SMTP
AUTH. This forces the client to authorize itself before EIMS will
allow it to relay.

Let me know if you need any help here. I had a run-in with ORBS
myself about 2 months ago.

I used the ORBS filter for EIMS for about a day and a half before I
threw it out as they had black listed Compuserve and AOL at the time.
What a great idea gone very very awry.

I'd be happy to help.

--

Sam Lewis, V.P. Technology

Tehabi Books http://www.tehabi.com/
1201 Camino Del Mar, Suite 100, Del Mar, CA 92014
Tel: 626-852-0956 Fax: 916-404-5698 mailto:Sam@tehabi.com



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page