Search Again:

Re: ORBS blacklist

From: Global Homes Webmaster
Date: Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Time: 12:42:32 pm

On 06/06/00 at 13:52, Rick Osgood wrote:

> The Internet vigilantes at Orbs.com have blacklisted our mail server
> as an "Open Relay".
>
> It is NOT, we have Relay Restrictions set ON, with only our own
> domains allowed in EIMS. However, they have apparently detected
> -something- that I'm not aware of.
>
> Can someone here give me a clue as to how to change the server
> settings to get off their list? It is apparently something in our
> DNS setup that they object to.
>
> The mail server that they have blacklisted is mail.dartboard.com, at
> 206.180.155.50.

The only thing I see in your DNS that ORBS might have a problem with is that
mail.dartboard.com. is a CNAME, and the PTR for 206.180.155.50 points to a
different name. It's just the kind of thing ORBS might be overly sensitive
about.

> ORBS, BTW, is run by a completely anonymous group of individuals, who
> do not return emails, do not list any contact address or phone
> number, and admit on their own home page that their database and
> hardware are unreliable & crash often. Yet this amateur vigilante
> group has the power to practically shut down a business by
> blacklisting their IP#s. Why does -anyone- ever use their database,
> without even knowing who they are, or what security measures, if any,
> they use to protect their database? Incredible...

ORBS has quite a reputation for being over-zealous. Their criteria for
blacklisting hosts are, shall we say, overly broad and end up including many
servers that are neither open relays nor spam generators -- put another way,
they tend to 'throw the baby out with the bath water.' As a result, not many
admins actually use ORBS. While I would be concerned about having a host
listed with ORBS, I wouldn't view it as catastrophic unless some mail server
that I exchange mail with on a regular basis uses it. Now, if you get onto the
MAPS RSS, that's potentially more serious, since it is much more widely used.
On the other hand, the RSS is a lot easier to get off of, since MAPS will tell
you exactly why you're listed and how to correct it. Personally, I use the
MAPS blacklists (RSS, DUL, RBL - <http://www.mail-abuse.org/>) on my SIMS
installation and I find that they do an acceptably good job of filtering spam
while allowing virtually all legitimate mail to get through.

That being said, I can't speak specifically to getting an EIMS server off of
ORBS. I'll leave that to EIMS users like Hank and Sam and the EIMS list. 8^)

Christopher Bort



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page