Search Again:

Re: puzzling registrar

From: Men & Mice Support
Date: Friday, May 23, 2003
Time: 2:31:56 pm

Spam quantity has jumped recently. Anyone know why?

The domain registration looks legitimate. The purpose of the
gibberish name is to obfuscate. The Yahoo email address is probably
no longer valid. Joker, the registrar, doesn't appear to require any
mailing address information.

I sent a query to one of the listed servers:

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. IN ANY

;; ANSWER SECTION:
fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN SOA ns1.somewhere.com.ee.
hostmaster.somewhere.com.ee. 305231432 20 30 1200 180
fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN A 65.129.25.204
fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN MX 10
mail.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com.
fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN NS ns1.vnethosting.net.
fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN NS ns2.vnethosting.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mail.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN A 151.197.169.196
ns1.vnethosting.net. 900 IN A 141.158.57.246
ns2.vnethosting.net. 900 IN A 141.158.57.246

So the hostmaster's email address is here purported to be
@somewhere.com.ee. The PTR record for the web server's IP address is:

204.25.129.65.in-addr.arpa. 3600 IN PTR
0-1pool25-204.nas32.philadelphia1.pa.us.da.qwest.net.

It's delegated through ARIN, so it's most likely in the Americas
somewhere. The mail server, on the other hand, appears to be in
Europe, since its PTR record goes through RIPE.

196.169.197.151.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN PTR
pool-151-197-169-196.phil.east.verizon.net.
____________________________________________________________________
Chris Buxton Men & Mice
support@menandmice.com Making DNS Easy

At 4:57 PM -0400 5/23/03, andrew kagan wrote:
>I've getting a lot of "make your wife happy" spam, and I noticed a URL like:
>
>http://www.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com/hv/a2.php
>
>And on NetSol the whois for this domain is:
>
>domain: fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com
>status: production
>origin-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>owner: Ronald Walters
>email: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>address: 12422 Halewood Avenue
>city: Golborne
>state: Warrington
>postal-code: WA3 3RQ
>country: GB
>admin-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>tech-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>billing-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>nserver: ns1.vnethosting.net
>nserver: ns2.vnethosting.net
>registrar: JORE-1
>created: 2003-05-13 00:15:48 UTC JORE-1
>modified: 2003-05-13 01:31:47 UTC JORE-1
>expires: 2004-05-12 18:15:27 UTC
>source: joker.com
>
>Is this for registrar for real? Is this registration for real?




Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page