Search Again:

Re: puzzling registrar

From: Paul Willis
Date: Thursday, June 5, 2003
Time: 5:25:23 am

Hi

We have only praise for Joker as a registrar. We do all our com/net.org
registrations through them.

They have a spam reporting service for domains registered through them
here...

<https://joker.com/index.joker?mode=support&support_type=spam>

Cheers

Paul

On Friday, May 23, 2003, at 10:30 PM, Men & Mice Support wrote:

> Spam quantity has jumped recently. Anyone know why?
>
> The domain registration looks legitimate. The purpose of the gibberish
> name is to obfuscate. The Yahoo email address is probably no longer
> valid. Joker, the registrar, doesn't appear to require any mailing
> address information.
>
> I sent a query to one of the listed servers:
>
> ;; QUESTION SECTION:
> ;fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. IN ANY
>
> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
> fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN SOA ns1.somewhere.com.ee.
> hostmaster.somewhere.com.ee. 305231432 20 30 1200 180
> fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN A 65.129.25.204
> fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN MX 10
> mail.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com.
> fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN NS ns1.vnethosting.net.
> fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN NS ns2.vnethosting.net.
>
> ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
> mail.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com. 180 IN A 151.197.169.196
> ns1.vnethosting.net. 900 IN A 141.158.57.246
> ns2.vnethosting.net. 900 IN A 141.158.57.246
>
> So the hostmaster's email address is here purported to be
> @somewhere.com.ee. The PTR record for the web server's IP address is:
>
> 204.25.129.65.in-addr.arpa. 3600 IN PTR
> 0-1pool25-204.nas32.philadelphia1.pa.us.da.qwest.net.
>
> It's delegated through ARIN, so it's most likely in the Americas
> somewhere. The mail server, on the other hand, appears to be in
> Europe, since its PTR record goes through RIPE.
>
> 196.169.197.151.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN PTR
> pool-151-197-169-196.phil.east.verizon.net.
> ____________________________________________________________________
> Chris Buxton Men & Mice
> support@menandmice.com Making DNS Easy
>
> At 4:57 PM -0400 5/23/03, andrew kagan wrote:
>> I've getting a lot of "make your wife happy" spam, and I noticed a
>> URL like:
>>
>> http://www.fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com/hv/a2.php
>>
>> And on NetSol the whois for this domain is:
>>
>> domain: fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com
>> status: production
>> origin-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>> owner: Ronald Walters
>> email: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>> address: 12422 Halewood Avenue
>> city: Golborne
>> state: Warrington
>> postal-code: WA3 3RQ
>> country: GB
>> admin-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>> tech-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>> billing-c: whynotgohomenow@yahoo.com#0
>> nserver: ns1.vnethosting.net
>> nserver: ns2.vnethosting.net
>> registrar: JORE-1
>> created: 2003-05-13 00:15:48 UTC JORE-1
>> modified: 2003-05-13 01:31:47 UTC JORE-1
>> expires: 2004-05-12 18:15:27 UTC
>> source: joker.com
>>
>> Is this for registrar for real? Is this registration for real?
>
>




Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page