|
|
 |  |
Re: puzzling registrarFrom: andrew kagan Date: Thursday, June 5, 2003
Time: 9:16:53 am> >> I have read the entire thread. I don't see that their registration
> >> methods are any different to any other registrar. A legitimate domain
> >> name, a registrant's name, address and email is all anyone ever asks
> >> for. No registrar checks that these details are correct.
> >>
> > Yes, yes...you're right...why would a domain like
> > "fjwi39jsdfniw3hrijh.com"
> > throw a red flag? I mean, spammers' euros are green like everyone
> > else's
> > right?
>
> I never said that wasn't a suspicious name but spammers euros are
> indeed green just like everyone elses so how do you know who is a goody
> and who is a baddy? Where do you draw the line with a registration? Are
> you going to have a committee look at each and every registration to
> see if they like the look of it, or if they think it might be possible
> used to send spam?
I don't know...I don't know if a "real" person ever looks at them at all.
>
> The spammer could just as easily register a domain that uses real
> words, in fact our mail server blocks hundreds of spams a day, most
> are from ordinary looking domain names.
Sad but true...and as new TLD's are released the problem will just
accelerate
> > What a cop-out, Paul...the fact that they allow registrations like the
> > one
> > above is enough reason for me not to do business with them.
>
> I'd be interested to see any registrar that would block what is
> technically a legitimate registration. Who do you use?
>
<sigh>...I suppose you're right...sorry if I sounded harsh...now if I was my
own registrar...
|

Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page |