Search Again:

Re: Working around Verisign power-grab?

From: Adam Dennis
Date: Tuesday, September 16, 2003
Time: 7:37:34 pm

Hello All - if you feel strongly about Verisign/Network Solutions
recent attempt to hijack all non-existant domains in .com and .net
name spaces perhaps you might like to write something akin to the
following:

(with thanks to Stefan, Bruce and the CommunigatePro list and to PIFR
http://www.pfir.org/statements/vs-domain-abuse )

To: comments@icann.org, icann@icann.org, antitrust@ftc.gov,
dnssales@verisign.com

Subject: Verisign/NSI Domain Scam


Hello,

I'd just like to express my opinion on the latest Verisign move to
add a wildcard A record to the .com and .net zones.

The DNS system is supposed to return a "no match found" response if
you try looking up the address of a non-existent domain. Verisign
have changed this so that it instead returns the address of their
search website. Now, apart from the fact that they are abusing the
DNS system (and their position as a Domain Name Registrar) to promote
themselves, they are breaking systems which check to see if a domain
is valid or not before granting access to their services.

This is unacceptable and would only further again strengthen
Verisign's monopoly while making troubleshooting much harder and
breaking basic mechanisms in existing software.

One example is a feature our mail server supports which is the
verifying of a return-path. This feature is essential and now breaks
because verisign returns an IP for non existent domain names.
Spammers often use fake domain names when sending out unsolicited
email. It was possible to reject mail that claims to originate from a
fake domain - thanks to verisign this is no longer the case.

This Verisign hijacking will increase the amount of spam messages
that have to be filtered by spam elimination software, since fake
domains are no longer going to be rejected.

In another example, suppose one of your staff/customers makes a typo
when sending an e-mail and puts in an invalid domain. Previously
your mail system would simply bounce it back to them and say "No such
domain". Now it will try sending the mail to Verisign. They have set
up a mail responder which then rejects the mail but all our mail
systems are now dependent on that responder to behave plus there will
be an increase in unnecessary internet traffic.

This change was made without consultation - they didn't even explain
themselves till people complained about it - and breaks more than one
important Internet service. This is not ethical behaviour -
especially from an Internet Registrar - no one has the right to "own"
all unregistered and misspelt domain names.


Thank You

Adam Dennis
Core Technology Aust Pty Ltd.




Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page