|
|
 |  |
Re: Panther, shared internet, and QDNSFrom: Michael Wise Date: Tuesday, December 23, 2003
Time: 8:59:19 amAt 1:01 AM -0600 12/23/03, billc_lists@greenbuilder.com wrote:
>Geez Michael,
>
>Though I don't consider myself either an expert DNS admin nor one of
>the DNS-ignorant, I would consider something labeled "WARNING" as
>likely something that would merit fixing. The warning itself makes
>it sound like there's a real problem here, and I suspect that a fair
>number of people who use the site wouldn't know any better than to
>waste a fair bit of time going through the motions to change all
>their NSs to the corresponding TLD, all for a nanosecond or two of
>speed increase.
>
>Seems to me that when you balance the net gain in speed against the
>time spent to correct this "problem", you end up losing.
>
>I would say that this one does NOT merit investigation by the vast
>majority of DNS admins, but that DNSReport makes it sound like it
>does. That would qualify as "misleading" in my book.
OK, I'll grant the sometimes misleading part...although most
experienced admins are smart enough to discern the difference between
suggestions/opinions (both of which dnsreport sometimes offer and
critical values which are broken and need to be fixed.
It's odd that you speak up seemingly against dnsreport, as a
dnsreport.com analysis of your own domain shows several problems
worth noting.
http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=greenbuilder.com
1) One of the name servers (ns3.greenbuilder.com. [24.234.47.110])
listed at the parent servers is not responding.
Len and Jeremy: if there anything "wrong at worst and misleading ,
confusing logorrhea at best" with that bit of data? Is it worth
knowing?
2) ERROR: One or more of the nameservers listed at the parent servers
are not listed as NS records at your nameservers. The problem NS
records are:
ns2.one4allhosting.com.
Len and Jeremy: if there anything "wrong at worst and misleading ,
confusing logorrhea at best" with that bit of data? Is it worth
knowing?
3) Duplicate MX records WARNING: You only have duplicate MX records.
This means that mailservers may try delivering mail to the same IP
more than once. Although technically valid, this is very confusing,
and wastes resources. The duplicate MX records are:
mail.greenbuilder.com. and mail.greenbuilder.com. both resolve to
205.238.129.197.
Len and Jeremy: if there anything "wrong at worst and misleading ,
confusing logorrhea at best" with that bit of data? Is it worth
knowing?
In a span of the 15-20 seconds it took to go to www.dmsreport.com,
type in greenbuilder.com, hit enter, and wait for the results...we
have a birds eye view of several issues (all of which spending a
couple of minutes doing whois's and digs will confirm.
I couldn't make a better case and point.
--Mike
|

Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page |