Search Again:

Re: Panther, shared internet, and QDNS

From: billc_lists@greenbuilder.com
Date: Saturday, December 27, 2003
Time: 12:07:21 am

At 8:58 AM -0800 12/23/03, Michael Wise wrote:
>It's odd that you speak up seemingly against dnsreport, as a
>dnsreport.com analysis of your own domain shows several problems
>worth noting.
>
>http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=greenbuilder.com


Actually, I have never used dnsreport.com or DNS Expert, and don't
have specific opinions about either of them (though perhaps that's
obvious from the problems you note below). I was responding only to
the wording of the error message that you and Len were arguing so
vehmently about. And yes, I do agree with Len that the wording is
misleading.


>1) One of the name servers (ns3.greenbuilder.com. [24.234.47.110])
>listed at the parent servers is not responding.

Thank you for pointing this one out to me. I find it strange that
you came up with that IP address, since that was supposedly changed
last August.

So, you found a real problem. Now, how do I go about tracking down
where it's wrong, and getting it corrected?

>2) ERROR: One or more of the nameservers listed at the parent
>servers are not listed as NS records at your nameservers. The
>problem NS records are:
>ns2.one4allhosting.com.

ns2.one4allhosting.com is the same IP as ns3.greenbuilder.com (or
should be... see above). The reason for the ns3 name is simply to
avoid confusing hosting clients. Most of them don't really need to
know that we have a reciprocal DNS agreement with one4allhosting.com,
why that is of benefit to them, etc etc.

If there is any actual problem with this practice (assuming the host
is properly defined, of course), please let me know.

>3) Duplicate MX records WARNING: You only have duplicate MX records.
>This means that mailservers may try delivering mail to the same IP
>more than once. Although technically valid, this is very confusing,
>and wastes resources. The duplicate MX records are:
>mail.greenbuilder.com. and mail.greenbuilder.com. both resolve to
>205.238.129.197.

The result of discontinuing use of a live backup mail server due to
spam relay concerns. True, I probably should just remove the dupe
and I probably will at some point, but I can't see where it is all
that confusing nor how it could waste much in the way of resources.



--
Bill Christensen
http://greenbuilder.com/contact/

Green Building Professionals Directory: http://directory.greenbuilder.com
Sustainable Building Calendar: http://www.greenbuilder.com/calendar/
Green Real Estate: http://www.greenbuilder.com/realestate/
Straw Bale Registry: http://sbregistry.greenbuilder.com/
Books/videos/software: http://bookstore.greenbuilder.com/



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page