|
|
 |  |
Re: Virus HelpFrom: Andy Gibson Date: Thursday, March 4, 2004
Time: 12:17:45 pmOur ISP office had a similar breakout of this virus yesterday and we
were able to shut it down before it got out of control. The first thing
I thought when I got the virus was that the mail server was infected and
was sending this out to all of our customers but turns out it was an
employee's machine that was infected and sent out to everyone in the
office. We were able to narrow down the source by viewing the email
headers.
If the virus has somehow found its way to your optigold server then it
may be a database aware virus and got a user listing from filemaker or
SQL. Our OptiGold server was not compromised when this virus was
spreading but thats not to say it isn't possible.
OR, an employee, or ex-employee has a current listing of your users on
their computer that was compromised by the virus...
---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585
----- Original Message -----
From: Matt Clark
To: 'Optigold ISP List'
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 3:04 PM
Subject: RE: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help
Ok, but does this explain that the emails going out are using my
optigold database (login and over ride email) as the email address?
These are not being sent to addresses in anyone's local contact list.
Thanks!
Matt
-----Original Message-----
From: isp-list@optigold.com [mailto:isp-list@optigold.com] On Behalf
Of Andy Gibson
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 1:04 PM
To: Optigold ISP List
Subject: Re: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help
Someone (possibly in your office) is infected with the Bagel.J worm
which replicates itself appearing as though it came from some
Administration department of your ISP. Everyone on the infected
person's address book would likely have gotten a similar email. Read
link below for more info:
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.beagle.j@mm.h
tml
---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585
----- Original Message -----
From: Matt Clark
To: isp-list@optigold.com
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 2:56 PM
Subject: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help
Team,
I have recently found out that all my accounts on Optigold have been
sent an email (I have listed it at the bottom). It appears that my
billing server has been infected with some sort of virus. Does anyone
else have any idea what virus would go to such great lengths to pretend
to come from my company? Attached on this email is a .txt file that has
the virus. The viruses are going to login/pass@rni.net and to
overrideemail@rni.net.
Any help is appreciated.
***************
Dear user, the management of Rni.net mailing system wants to let
you know that,
Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses
outgoing
from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to
clean up your computer software.
Pay attention on attached file.
The Management,
The Rni.net team http://www.rni.net
Matt Clark
RNi
480-344-3144
mattclark@rni.net <-- Please Update In Your Records
|
Messages In This Thread:- Virus Help by Matt Clark on Mar 4, 2004 at 11:58:34 am
|

Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page |