Search Again:

Re: Virus Help

From: Matt Clark
Date: Thursday, March 4, 2004
Time: 12:18:46 pm

Yes. I looked for clients here that might be infected, but it became
clear to me that the addresses being sent to were unique to the Optigold
database.



Matt



-----Original Message-----
From: isp-list@optigold.com [mailto:isp-list@optigold.com] On Behalf Of
Jeff Folk
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 1:11 PM
To: Optigold ISP List
Subject: Re: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



You also have to make sure that the email originated from one of your
IPs. I get those all the time, saying they are from QzoneInc, but they
come from outside my network...



Jeff

----- Original Message -----

From: Matt Clark <mailto:mattclark@rni.net>

To: 'Optigold ISP <mailto:isp-list@optigold.com> List'

Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 2:04 PM

Subject: RE: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Ok, but does this explain that the emails going out are using my
optigold database (login and over ride email) as the email address?
These are not being sent to addresses in anyone's local contact list.



Thanks!



Matt



-----Original Message-----
From: isp-list@optigold.com [mailto:isp-list@optigold.com] On Behalf Of
Andy Gibson
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 1:04 PM
To: Optigold ISP List
Subject: Re: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Someone (possibly in your office) is infected with the Bagel.J worm
which replicates itself appearing as though it came from some
Administration department of your ISP. Everyone on the infected
person's address book would likely have gotten a similar email. Read
link below for more info:



http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.beagle.j@mm.
html







---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585

----- Original Message -----

From: Matt Clark <mailto:mattclark@rni.net>

To: isp-list@optigold.com

Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 2:56 PM

Subject: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Team,



I have recently found out that all my accounts on Optigold have been
sent an email (I have listed it at the bottom). It appears that my
billing server has been infected with some sort of virus. Does anyone
else have any idea what virus would go to such great lengths to pretend
to come from my company? Attached on this email is a .txt file that has
the virus. The viruses are going to login/pass@rni.net and to
overrideemail@rni.net.



Any help is appreciated.





***************

Dear user, the management of Rni.net mailing system wants to let you
know that,



Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing


from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to
clean up your computer software.



Pay attention on attached file.



The Management,

The Rni.net team http://www.rni.net
<http://www.rni.net/>







Matt Clark

RNi

480-344-3144

mattclark@rni.net <-- Please Update In Your Records




---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.611 / Virus Database: 391 - Release Date: 3/3/2004



Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page