Search Again:

Re: Virus Help

From: Andy Gibson
Date: Thursday, March 4, 2004
Time: 12:28:00 pm

This is only a guess due to the fact that this variation of the virus is
only a day old, and anti-virus companies may not have fully tested its
capabilities, but any workstations in your office that have an ODBC link
to your optigold server may have been used as a gateway for the virus to
get that user information.

---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585
----- Original Message -----
From: Matt Clark
To: 'Optigold ISP List'
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 3:21 PM
Subject: RE: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help


Thanks for the info.



One employee was infected with MyDoom.F last week and compromised some
files on the server (via network drive). Could this have something to
do with it? We cleared the MyDoom off all computer at that time, but
maybe we were missing something.



I also checked to see if I had an old copy of the database files on my
computer (maybe as a backup). I do not, and I am the only one that
would have anything related to the customer data from Optigold.



Matt



-----Original Message-----
From: isp-list@optigold.com [mailto:isp-list@optigold.com] On Behalf
Of Andy Gibson
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 1:17 PM
To: Optigold ISP List
Subject: Re: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Our ISP office had a similar breakout of this virus yesterday and we
were able to shut it down before it got out of control. The first thing
I thought when I got the virus was that the mail server was infected and
was sending this out to all of our customers but turns out it was an
employee's machine that was infected and sent out to everyone in the
office. We were able to narrow down the source by viewing the email
headers.



If the virus has somehow found its way to your optigold server then it
may be a database aware virus and got a user listing from filemaker or
SQL. Our OptiGold server was not compromised when this virus was
spreading but thats not to say it isn't possible.



OR, an employee, or ex-employee has a current listing of your users on
their computer that was compromised by the virus...



---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585

----- Original Message -----

From: Matt Clark

To: 'Optigold ISP List'

Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 3:04 PM

Subject: RE: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Ok, but does this explain that the emails going out are using my
optigold database (login and over ride email) as the email address?
These are not being sent to addresses in anyone's local contact list.



Thanks!



Matt



-----Original Message-----
From: isp-list@optigold.com [mailto:isp-list@optigold.com] On Behalf
Of Andy Gibson
Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 1:04 PM
To: Optigold ISP List
Subject: Re: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Someone (possibly in your office) is infected with the Bagel.J worm
which replicates itself appearing as though it came from some
Administration department of your ISP. Everyone on the infected
person's address book would likely have gotten a similar email. Read
link below for more info:




http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.beagle.j@mm.h
tml







---
Andy Gibson
Digital Networks
agibson@digitalnetworks.ca
(613) 802-1585

----- Original Message -----

From: Matt Clark

To: isp-list@optigold.com

Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 2:56 PM

Subject: [Optigold ISP] Virus Help



Team,



I have recently found out that all my accounts on Optigold have
been sent an email (I have listed it at the bottom). It appears that my
billing server has been infected with some sort of virus. Does anyone
else have any idea what virus would go to such great lengths to pretend
to come from my company? Attached on this email is a .txt file that has
the virus. The viruses are going to login/pass@rni.net and to
overrideemail@rni.net.



Any help is appreciated.





***************

Dear user, the management of Rni.net mailing system wants to let
you know that,



Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses
outgoing

from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool
to clean up your computer software.



Pay attention on attached file.



The Management,

The Rni.net team
http://www.rni.net







Matt Clark

RNi

480-344-3144

mattclark@rni.net <-- Please Update In Your Records




Messages In This Thread:



Return to Digital Point Solutions' Home Page